Prep Cross Country Preview and Review: Osseo-Fairchild to host sectional meet this Friday

Tri-County Area teams compete in conference meets last week

Tri-County Area prep teams will be competing this week in WIAA playoff games, matches and meets.

The big event in the area is the Division 3 cross country sectional meet hosted by Osseo-Fairchild which will take place this Friday, Oct. 21 at Osseo Golf Course.

Parking is available in the lot next to the clubhouse, in Stoddard Park, in the parking lot of Osseo Evangelical Lutheran Church and the junior baseball diamond on CTH. B next the back enterance of the course.
Admission is $5 per person and admission takers will be in these parking areas.

The meet will begin with the National Anthem at 4:15 p.m. The first race, the girls' race is at 4:30 p.m. and the boys' race is at 5:15 p.m. Team competing include the host Thunder and Eleva-Strum along with Lincoln, La Crosse Aquinas, Bangor, Blair-Taylor, Brookwood, Cashton, Cochrane-Fountain City, De Soto, Hillsboro,
Independence/Gilmanton, Kickapoo/La Farge, Onalaska Luther, Melrose-Mindoro, Mondovi, New Lisbon, La Crosse Providence Academy/Coulee Christian, Royall, Westby and Whitehall.

Ranked teams in the field include No. 15 Kickapoo/LaFarge for boys and No. 2 Westby, No. 7 Kickapoo/LaFarge and No. 11 Brookwood for girls. Blair-Taylor is the Dairyland Conference champion for boys and Cochrane-Fountain City won the DC title for girls. C-FC's Wes Pronschinkle is one of the top boys' runners in the state and is a favorite to win the boys' race and Mondovi's Courtney Stadler will look to do the same on the girls' side. The top two teams and top five runners not on a qualifying team advance to the state meet which will be held next weekend in Wisconsin Rapids.

The area's other two cross country teams, Fall Creek and Augusta, will compete in the Division 3 Cadott Sectional which begins at 11 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 22 at Whispering Pines Golf Course. FC's Jenna Anders will look to qualify for the state for the fourth straight season and the Crickets will to qualify as a team. The teams competing in the meet are Boyceville, Cadott, Cameron, Chetek-Weyerhaeuser, Clear Lake, Colfax, Durand, Eau Claire Immanuel Lutheran, Elmwood/Plum City, Glenwood City, Lake Holcombe/Cornell, Loyal/Greenwood, Chippewa Falls McDonell, New Auburn, Owen-Withee, Eau Claire Regis, Spring Valley, Stanley-Boyd, Thorp/Gilman and Unity. McDonell is ranked No. 7 in the state in D-3 boys. Regis won the Cloverbelt Conference title for girls while Colfax was first in the Dunn-St. Croix for girls led by four-time conference champion Molly Heindorn who won the D-SC race last week in 19:10. Durand-Arkansaw was second led by Lauren Peterson who finished third individually behind Mondovi's Courtney Stadler, also a candidate for an at-large state berth.

Last week Tri-County Area teams competed in their respective conference meets.

Fall Creek had one of the better results in the area as the girls team was third and the boys fourth in their respective races at the Cloverbelt Conference meet held Saturday, Oct. 15 in Loyal..

No. 10 ranked Bloomer edged out No. 7 Chippewa Falls McDonell for the Cloverbelt Conference boys' title 34-50 with Colby/Abbotsford in third place with 136 points. Fall Creek had 150. Bloomer placed four of its top five runners in the top 10 while McDonell had just three despite have the individual conference champion in Paul Pfeifer in a time of 17:03 on the 5000-meter course.

Fall Creek's Tyler Kleinhans had the team's best time and place finishing 20th in 18:47. Other varsity FC runners were Stewart Gundry and Joel Stump, 29th and 30th respectively with times under 20 minutes at 19:45 and 19:46. Jamison Carey was 37th in 20:14; Marcus Kleinhans 39th in 20:35; Marcus Coleman 42nd in 20:38 and Kaden Prock, 63rd in 21:55.

Osseo-Fairchild placed ninth out of the 14 teams competing in the meet with 229 points. The Thunder's top finisher was Kyle Burmesch, 27th in 19:27 followed by Bryce Armstriong-Baglien, 47th in 21:09; Mason Schieffer, 50th in 21:14; Lincoln Bertrang, 54th in 21:20; Orion Prudlick, 72nd in 23:13.3 and 73rd Jonas Sackmann-VH, 24:21.7.

In the girls race, FC's Jenna Anders was named All-Cloverbelt for the fourth straight time finishing second in a time of 20:49. Winning the race was Thorp/Gilman;'s Shaylie Zarza in 20:30.

Eau Claire Regis just got past Colby 51-53 to win the conference title while Fall Creek's third place score was 81. Regis had three runners place in the top seven and four in the top 12.

FC's Megan Johnston also made to all-conference status finishing 10th in 21:49. Other FC varsity runners were Evelyn Bergeron and Brynn Clemons, 21st and 22nd respectively with times of 23:00.2 and 23:18.0
on the 5000-meter course. In 34th was FC's Cora Peterson with a time of 24:25; Paige Aldrich was 40th in 24:52 and Sophia Schultz was 48th in 25:57.

Running in the Cloverbelt girls' meet for O-F were Alyssa Burmesch, 57th in 27:44; Aubrey Schmidt, 60th in 27:51.

Augusta's boys and girls placed both placed fourth in the Dairyland Conference meet held last week Thursday, Oct. 13 at Cochrane-Fountain City.

The AHS Girls' Team Average Time was 23:11 (2nd fastest all time average) 23:00 is school record.

The Beavers' Ava Peterson had a seventh place finish with a time of 21:47 which earned her second team, all-conference. Beth Boone \placed11th, one spot from all conference at 22:32. Next were Autumn Randall - 15th place, 23:36 - PR; Jerri Mackey - 17th place, 23:39 - PR; Roella Weiss - 18th place, 24:24 - PR; Kendra Olson - 24th place, 26:29 and CC Hanson - 25th place, 26:33. Abby Boone placed third in the JV race in 28:42

The Augusta boys' team average time was: 20:14. Both Justin Frank with his eighth place time of 18:58 and Devin Molinaro with his ninth place time of 19:00 they both sprinted towards to reach the finish line in the final 200 meters, made all-conference with their times and places. Also running for Augusta were Preston Schafer - 18th place, 20:32; Drew Jacobs - 23rd place, 20:56; Gavin Wiese - 28th place, 21:43 - PR
Garett Larson - 40th place, 27:40 and Sennett Schintgen- 41st place, 28:18 - PR.

The host school, C-FC won the team title in girls scoring 22 points followed by Independence/Gilmanton 64, Melrose-Mindoro 66, Augusta 68 with their remainders incomplete. The Pirates placed three of their top three runners in the top three led by conference champion Addy Duellman's winning time of 18:57 on the 5000-meter course. C-FC's Wes Pronschinske set a course record in his final race on it, winning the individual title in 16:09 but it was Blair-Taylor taking the team title with 38 point to C-FC's 53, Immanuel's 62, Augusta's 75 and Whitehall's 104 with the rest incomplete.

Eleva-Strum's runners and finishes were Anabel Howie, 13th in 22:51; Amalia Dyar, 29th in a season-best 26 minutes even and Jillian Awe, 39th in another season-best time of 33:09. E-S's Alex Awe placed 33rd in 22:50, another season-best time.


GMD Media

See Contact Button at top left for each office Phone Number,
200 Industrial Court Suite 100
, Wabasha, MN 55981

coloring pictures
télécharger reddit video

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to GMDMedia Newsletter feed
Customize This